In the summer of 2003, four people began meeting together to discuss the concept of an organization that would meet the needs of area residents concerning home-related issues.  Shelby County Community Outreach, Inc., an independent organization, was formed in February 2004 by these four local residents and their spouses as the Founding Board of Directors.  Twelve months later, 501 © 3 tax-exempt status was issued by the IRS to the young organization, and direct services were begun in a very limited capacity.  Now, SCCO operates on a full-time basis in 4 key areas of ministry:
Services Hero Image

Not representing any particular church or denomination, SCCO seeks only to promote the person of Jesus Christ and His ability to change lives.  It is through these 4 key areas of ministry that we are able to connect with people on a personal level and touch lives of those around us with the love of Jesus.


Linda scaled

Linda Nelson

Hero’s Attic Manager

Marian Greer scaled

Marian Bretey

Office Manager

Suzanne scaled

Suzanne Rasmussen

Financial Secretary

Ron French scaled

Ron French

Executive Director & Home Repair Specialist


– 2022 Board of Directors –

Current Board of Directors

Mike Poggensee-President, Eric Chipman-Vice President, Suzanne Rasmussen- Secretary/Treasurer, Marian Bretey, Janet Carbonell, Brenda Renter, Troy Renter.

Founding Board Members

(Alphabetical order)

  • Marcy Cain 2004
  • Mike Cain 2004-2006
  • Jenny French 2004
  • Ron French 2004-2005
  • Dave Pedersen 2004-2011
  • Pat Pedersen 2004
  • Barb Wirtjes 2004-2007, 2009-2018
  • Gary Wirtjes 2004-2018
Founding Board Members 1

Past Board Members

(Alphabetical order)

  • Jim Bieker 2007-2010
  • Dave Boettger 2006-2011
  • Nancy Boettger 2006
  • Patti Bogler 2017-2020
  • Anne Chipman 2005-2006
  • Colleen Hansen 2011-2013
  • Al Hazelton 2007-2017
  • Gavin King 2019-2021
  • Gaige Lytle 2007-2013
  • David “Pete” Pedersen 2005-2006
  • Cayley Poggensee 2005-2011
  • Daniel Poggensee 2017-2018
  • Mike Poggensee 2005-2006
  • Annette Reischl 2005
  • Steve Reischl 2005
  • Denny Siemers 2007-2017
  • Diane Stewart 2005-2006
  • Paul Stewart 2005-2006
  • Jeff Stokes 2017-2018